NETRF Board of Scientific Advisors

The Board of Scientific Advisors provides scientific direction to the Neuroendocrine Tumor Research Foundation (NETRF) by offering advice, conducting peer-review of grant proposals, and serving as leaders in the field. The Board of Scientific Advisors comprises highly distinguished medical leaders who share a commitment to discovering a cure for neuroendocrine cancer. All members of the Board of Scientific Advisors are recognized experts in medical research, published authors in the top peer-reviewed medical journals, and leaders of collaborative research projects at top-ranked universities and institutes.

Board of Scientific Advisors

George Fisher, MD, PhD


Colleen Haas Chair in the School of Medicine Gastroenterology, Stanford Medical School

Board Certification: Medical Oncology
Education: Stanford University (MD and PhD)
Residency: Stanford University Medical Center
Fellowships: Stanford University Medical Center

Dawn E. Quelle, PhD

Professor, Pharmacology Leader, Cancer Genes and Pathways Program Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center University of Iowa, College of Medicine

Education: The Pennsylvania State University (PhD) 
Fellowships: The Pennsylvania State University, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Bradley E. Bernstein, MD, PhD 

Bernard and Mildred Kayden MGH Research Institute Chair Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School Massachusetts General Hospital

Education: University of Washington School of Medicine (MD, PhD)
Residency: Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Post-Doctoral Research: Harvard University

James A. Bibb, PhD

Professor and Vice Chair of Research UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center, The University of Alabama at Birmingham Medical Center, Champ Lyons Endowed Chair for General Surgery Departments of Surgery, Neurobiology, and Neurology 

Education: UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Lisa Bodei, MD, PhD

Director, Targeted Radionuclide Therapy, Molecular Imaging and Therapy Service, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Board Certification: Nuclear Medicine
Education: University of Pisa (MD); University of Groningen (PhD)
Residency: University of Pisa (Italy)
Fellowship: European Institute of Oncology (Italy)

Daniel Chung, MD

Clinical Chief, Gastrointestinal Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital; Director, High-Risk GI Cancer Clinic

Board Certification: Gastroenterology
Education: Harvard Medical School (MD)
Residency: Massachusetts General Hospital
Fellowship: Massachusetts General Hospital

Jennifer R. Eads, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine, Physician Lead for GI Clinical Research, Director, Neuroendocrine Tumor Program, Division of Hematology and Oncology, University of Pennsylvania,Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine

Board Certification: Internal Medicine and Medical Oncology
Education: Tufts University School of Medicine (MD)
Residency: University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Fellowships: University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Daniel M. Halperin, MD

Assistant Professor, Department of Gastrointestinal (GI) Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine, The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Board Certification: Medical Oncology and Internal Medicine
Education: Weill Cornell Medical College (MD)
Residency: Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Fellowship: MD Anderson Cancer Center

Matthew H. Kulke, MD

Section Chief, Hematology and Medical Oncology, Medical Director, Clinical Cancer Center, Co-Director, BU-BMC Cancer Center, Zoltan Kohn Professor of Medicine, Boston, University School of Medicine, Boston Medical Center

Board Certification: Medical Oncology and Internal Medicine
Education: University of California, San Francisco
Residencies: Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Fellowship: Dana Farber Cancer Institute

John D. Minna, MD

Director Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research Professor Internal Medicine & Pharmacology University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Max L. Thomas Distinguished Chair in Molecular Pulmonary Oncology, Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research

Education: Stanford University Medical Center (MD) 
Residency: Massachusetts General Hospital
Fellowship: National Institutes of Health 

Anil Rustgi, MD

Director, Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University. 

Board Certification: Internal Medicine
Education: Yale University (MD)
Residency: Harvard Medical School, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Fellowship: Massachusetts General Hospital

Ramesh Shivdasani, MD, PhD

Physician, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Professor, Harvard Medical School

Board Certification: Medical Oncology
Education: University of Michigan (MD and PhD)
Fellowship: Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Residency: Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Chrissie Thirlwell, MD, PhD

Mireille Gillings Professor of Cancer Genomics – University of Exeter

Education: University College London (MD); University of London (PhD)
Post-Graduate Training: St. Bartholomew’s Hospital, Chelsea and Westminster, Charing Cross, Hammersmith and University College London Hospitals

Emeritus Members

  • Todd Golub, MD, Chief Scientific Officer, Broad Institute
  • Arnold Levine, PhD, Simons Center for Systems Biology at the Institute for Advanced Study
  • Thomas J. Lynch Jr., MD, Director, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
  • William Sellers, MD, Broad Institute
  • Evan Vosburgh, MD, Yale University School of Medicine